Motorcycles, mopeds, tricycles and quadricycles, the smart choice


Date and venue

The event will be held on 24 September 2015 at the Renaissance Hotel 19, Rue du Parnasse, Brussels.



Registrations for this event are now closed.


Programme of the event

12.30 - 13.00. Arrival and registration.

13.00 - 14.00. Walking lunch & exhibition of L-category vehicles.

14.00 - 15.15. The place of L-category vehicles in the EU.

15.15 - 15.45. Coffee break.

15.45 - 17.15. Unlocking the innovation potential for L-category vehicles: electromobility.


Theme of the conference

The conference will take place against the background of the ongoing revision of the White Paper on Transport, the relaunch of the CARS 2020 process and the 2015 European Mobility Week.

Let’s innovate! will bring together key policy-makers, vehicle manufacturers and other stakeholders to discuss the contribution of L-category vehicles (i.e. motorcycles, mopeds, tricycles and quadricycles) to both Europe’s mobility and industrial competitiveness.

The conference will focus on different forms of innovation, such as technical innovation, innovation in local mobility planning and innovative policy-making at European level.

A session of the conference will be dedicated to electromobility, one of the many facets of technical innovation developed by the industry. Leading experts will present and discuss ongoing research projects funded by the EU through the European Green Vehicles Initiative (2014-2020) and Horizon 2020.


The place of L-category vehicles in the EU - Keynote speakers

Nikolaus von Peter. Member of the Cabinet of the European Commissioner for Mobility and Transport, Violeta Bulc.

Stephan Schaller. ACEM President. BMW Motorrad President.


The place of L-category vehicles in the EU - Panellists

Wim van de Camp. Member of the European Parliament. Rapporteur of the European Parliament own-initiative report on the revision of the White Paper on Transport. Rapporteur on the L-category regulation.

Barbara Bonvissuto. Deputy Head of the Unit 'Automotive and mobility industries'. European Commission. DG GROW.

Cristina Marolda. European Commission. DG MOVE.

Karen Vancluysen. European cities and regions networking for innovative transport solutions (Polis). Executive Director.

Jacob Bangsgaard. Director General of FIA Region I. Europe.

Antonio Perlot. ACEM Secretary General.


Unlocking the innovation potential for L-category vehicles: electromobility - Panellists

Patrick Mercier. Principal Administrator at Unit H2 ‘Surface transport Unit’. DG RESEARCH. European Commission.

Antonio Perlot. ACEM Secretary General.

Mario Santucci. Representative from the RESOLVE project. Range of electric solutions for L-category vehicles.

Werner Rom. Representative from the EU-LIVE project. Efficient urban light vehicles.

Valéry Cervantes. Representative from the ESPRIT project. Easily distributed personal rapid transit.

Jon Madariaga. Representative from the WEEVIL project. Ultralight and ultrasafe adaptable 3-wheeler.


Contact details

Manuel Ordonez de Barraicua. ACEM communications officer.


T. +32 (0)49 652 65 17


Picture gallery 

Contact us

European Association of Motorcycle Manufacturers

Avenue de la Joyeuse Entrée, 1 B1040
Brussels Belgium

+32 (0)22 30 97 32

VAT BE0740.931.926

Transparency register - 02480451230-88